Click HERE to view the Premium Art Deadlines List.

Tuesday, April 16, 2013


Somerville flutist Peter H. Bloom, long-time member of the internationally acclaimed Aardvark Jazz Orchestra, invites you to the band’s show on April 20 at MIT Cambridge.

Aardvark Jazz Orchestra
Echoes and Resonance, Celebrating 50 Years of Jazz at MIT
Saturday, April 20, 2013 at 8:00 pm
MIT, Kresge Auditorium
77 Massachusetts Avenue, Cambridge, MA 02139
Free Admission
Information: 617-452-3205

The Aardvark Jazz Orchestra will continue its landmark 40th season with a show called Echoes and Resonance on April 20 at 8:00 pm, on MIT's main stage at Kresge Auditorium, 77 Massachusetts Avenue, Cambridge, MA 02139. Free Admission. For information: 617-452-3205.

To celebrate the 50th Anniversary of Jazz at MIT, Aardvark founder and music director Mark Harvey will reprise two of his major MIT commissions: Beyond (written for the MIT Wind Ensemble and featuring Herb Pomeroy and Ran Blake in the premiere), and Saxophrenia (composed for the MIT Festival Jazz Ensemble, featuring Joe Lovano in the premiere). In addition, the concert will honor legendary musicians and their connections to Aardvark and MIT: Jaki Byard, who performed with Aardvark in 1986 in Kresge Auditorium, and Mercer Ellington, who lectured to Mark Harvey's classes at MIT and donated his arrangement of Moon Mist to the band. Also on tap: Harvey’s recent composition Boston Boy inspired by renowned jazz writer Nat Hentoff. Hentoff was a fledgling jazz announcer in Boston just as Herb Pomeroy, father of jazz at MIT, was beginning his illustrious career.

Founded in 1973, the Aardvark Jazz Orchestra has been in continuous operation for 40 years, longer than any other composer-led large jazz ensemble in the world. The band has premiered more than 150 works for jazz orchestra and released 11 CDs to rave reviews around the globe, including 6 discs on Leo Records, a leading adventurous music label. Guest artists who have appeared with Aardvark include jazz luminaries Jaki Byard, Sheila Jordan, Jimmy Giuffre, Geri Allen, Lewis Porter, Vinny Golia, Dominique Eade, Jay Clayton, Paul Lovens, Rajesh Mehta, Matt Savage and Walter Thompson.

<< Home

Click HERE to view the Premium Art Deadlines List.

This page is powered by Blogger. Isn't yours?